Accreditation Standards for Dental Healthcare Service Providers by NABH

National Accreditation Board for Hospitals and Health Care Providers (NABH) has laid down Accreditation Standards for Dental Healthcare Service Providers (DHSP). The entities that can apply for are dental teaching institutions, dental hospitals and clinics. The NABH dental standards have been laid down keeping the Indian beliefs and working environment in mind. The board has laid down the standards that focus on

  1. Patient safety
  2. Quality of care
  3. Knowledge updation
  4. Trained staff
  5. Environment protection


Following details are covered under dental accreditation standards:


(A) Patient Centered Standards

  1. Access, Assessment and Continuity of Care (AAC)
  2. Care of Patients (COP)
  3. Management of Dental Material and Medication (MOM)
  4. Patient Rights and Education (PRE)
  5. Hospital Infection Control (HIC)


(B) Organization Centered Standards

  1. Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI)
  2. Responsibilities of Management (ROM)
  3. Facilities Management and Safety (FMS)
  4. Human Resource Management (HRM)
  5. Information Management Systems (IMS)


What benefits an organization gets after getting Accreditation certificate?


A dental healthcare service provider will get the following benefits after being accredited by NABH.

  1. It qualifies the organization in indicating commitment to quality care and patient safety.
  2. Accreditation to a health care organization inspires continuous improvement thus leading to good clinical outcomes.
  3. It increases community confidence among the patients as the services are rendered by credentialed staff.
  4. It also provides chance to healthcare unit to benchmark with the best.
  5. An accreditation status stimulates medical tourism.
  6. Accreditation guarantees objective system of empanelment under various government schemes and insurance agencies.


Who can apply?

For NABH accreditation, the dental healthcare providers can apply under two sections


Section A:

This section stipulates the accreditation standards for dental hospitals & educational Institutions. This is further subdivided into two categories.

  • Category 1: DHSPs associated with hospitals without inpatient facility
  • Category 2: DHSPs associated with hospitals/educational institutes & standalone DHSPs with inpatient facility


Section B:

This section stipulates the accreditation standards for dental clinics having up to 15chair.

How can an organization apply for accreditation?

All dental healthcare service provider organizations willing for accreditation can apply online by registering at the NABH website. The address is given below.

The detailed description of each parameter/standard and how it is achieved can be accessed HERE.